20th Century Marketing In The 21st Century

Everyone who reads this blog on a regular basis knows that I love the new media.  Even though I was trained in live entertainment marketing in the 20th century, I have embraced the internet; social media and any new form of marketing that will help me reach my audience.  But just relying on 21st century technology is not enough.

If you are applying your 20th century bad habits to the 21st century then nothing is going to change.  In fact, you could make your results worse.  Remember, today’s marketing offers instant feedback and social interaction.  If you use today’s marketing to announce and put on sale (break) a show, how are you doing this?  If you just announce, run an ad, and put the show on sale then you are wasting your time and money.  It’s just like they did it in the 20th century.  This was especially true with rock promoters.  God forbid they would kick off with a real promotion that created real buzz.  Today’s marketing is all about involving your customer.  They want input.  They want interaction.  They want a relationship!

You can put good 20th century marketing practices to work in the 21st century.  First you need to slow down and do your homework.  Do today’s entertainment marketers even do marketing plans anymore?  Who is your customer?  I like to use the old apple tree analogy.  When I write my plan I first go after the low hanging fruit.  What marketing tools will help me get it?  Social media is good for this.  Then I get out my ladder (even though I am afraid of heights) and start climbing and working for those harder to reach apples.  I don’t know about you, but I think the hard to reach apples taste sweeter.

Today’s marketing takes effort even though you can do it from your computer.  If you just sit on your ass in front of the computer and try to market, you will develop 20th century bad habits that will aid bad marketing health.  Apply the good, old fashion exercise of hitting the pavement with your creative marketing mind and your feet.

Tags: , , , , , ,

One Response to “20th Century Marketing In The 21st Century”

  1. Jason Says:

    Life is always a constant struggle to keep what is good and leave behind what is bad. Marketing should be no different.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

